A Girl I Knew by J.D. Salinger

Favorite lines

• Probably for every man there is at least one city that sooner or later turns into a girl.
• She was there, and she was the whole city, and that’s that.
• She had immense eyes that always seemed in danger of capsizing in their own innocence.
• Maybe I consistently hesitated to risk letting the thing we had together deteriorate into a romance. I don’t know any more. I used to know, but I lost the knowledge a long time ago. A man can’t go along indefinitely carrying around in his pocket a key that doesn’t fit anything.
• I saw a girl standing on it, completely submerged in the pool of autumn twilight. She wasn’t doing a thing that I could see, except standing there leaning on the balcony railing, holding the universe together. The way the profile of her face and body refracted in the soupy twilight made me feel a little drunk.
• Leah’s knock on my door was always poetry – high, beautifully wavering, absolutely perpendicular poetry.
• “My fahzzer is wedding us when I have seventeen years,” Leah said, looking at a doorknob. I merely nodded. There a certain foul blows, notably in love and soccer, that are not immediately followed by audible protest.
• He looked up, and, as I didn’t outrank him, gave that long Army look that holds no interest or curiosity at all.

Leave a Reply

